Archive for May, 2007

Oregon Wine County and Stoller Vineyards

Post this show to your favorite social network

07stoller1main.jpg

Deciding to turn the family turkey farm into a vineyard and build a new state-of-the-art winery in Oregon’s wine country, some might have thought Bill and Cathy Stoller had taken leave of their senses. But, as co-founders of Chehalem with Harry Peterson-Nedry, the couple already had some experience in the matter and decided to build a hi-tech winery, using exclusively solar power. An estate vineyard was planted in the Dundee Hills of Yamhill County, and dedicated to producing top notch Pinot Noir and Chardonnay.

Join us as we talk with Bill Stoller about the different growing regions and AVAs of Oregon, its winegrowing history, as well as its geography and soil conditions all of which lead to making world class Pinot Noir. Bill also discusses Stoller’s interest in making their winery green, and what goes into using the latest in technology to produce fine wine.

Stoller Vineyards: www.stollervineyards.com

Sponsor: Vinotemp International: www.vinotemp.com

Click Below to Play the Show:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Show #150
(48:28 min 22 MB)

View More Photos From ‘Oregon Wine County and Stoller Vineyards’

2007 Anderson Valley Pinot Noir Festival

Post this show to your favorite social network

07ander1main.jpg

The 10th Annual Anderson Valley Pinot Noir Festival was held May 18-20, 2007. 34 wineries either located in the Anderson Valley or that source fruit from the Anderson Valley participated. The pastoral Anderson Valley is acclaimed internationally for classic still wines including Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Gewurztraminer as well as sparkling wines.

Friday, May 18 was a Technical Conference on the growing and making of Pinot Noir in vineyards and wineries on the Pacific Coast. This was followed by a BBQ at Navarro Vineyards under giant oaks overlooking the vineyards. Saturday was the Grand Tasting held under a big tent in the vineyards at Goldeneye Winery. A country BBQ and silent auction were part of the event. Saturday night were Winemaker Dinners at prestigious restaurants in Mendocino and Fort Bragg. On Sunday the host wineries had Open Houses complete with gourmet food, entertainment, and of course Pinot Noir. The event is held annually the third weekend in May.

Anderson Valley Winegrower’s Association: www.avwines.com

“Prince of Pinot” Recommendations:

Breggo Cellars: www.breggo.com
Claudia Springs Winery: www.claudiasprings.com
Elke Vineyards: www.elkevineyards.com
Goldeneye Winery: www.goldeneyewinery.com
Handley Cellars: www.handleycellars.com
Harmonique: www.harmoniquewine.com
Husch Vineyards: www.huschvineyards.com
Lazy Creek Vineyards: www.lazycreekvineyards.com
Londer Vineyards: www.londervineyards.com
Navarro Vineyards: www.navarrowine.com
Philo Ridge Vineyards: www.philoridge.com
Toulouse Vineyards & Winery; www.toulousevineyards.com
Brogan Cellars: www.brogancellars.com
Woodenhead: www.woodenheadwine.com

Click Below to Play the Show:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Show #149
(16:02 min 7 MB)

View More Photos From ‘2007 Anderson Valley Pinot Noir Festival’

Wine Maker Profile: Mike Trujillo

Post this show to your favorite social network

07trujillo1main.jpg

Founded in 1980, Sequoia Grove Winery has been at the forefront during the huge rise in popularity of Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon that has taken place over the last two decades. With the advent of cult wines and many additional Cabernet producers in the marketplace, how does an established winery maintain its edge? One of the things it does is to make sure the winemaking staff is top notch. That’s where Michael Trujillo comes in. Michael learned his craft at Sequoia Grove under Jim Allen, as well as more than a little contribution by consultants like Andre Tchelistcheff and Tony Soter.

These days, Michael’s a busy guy. He started his own Karl Lawrence label in 1991, became Sequoia Grove’s winemaker in 1998, and was made President of Sequoia Grove in 2001.

We were fortunate to have Mike join us in the studio, where we were able to talk about everything from cult Cabs to pricing to winemaking methods to how he intends to bring the iconic Sequoia Grove winery back to its former days of glory.

More Information on Mike Trujillo:

Sequoia Grove Winery & Vineyards: www.sequoiagrove.com
Karl Lawrence, Cellars: www.karllawrence.com

Sponsor: Vinotemp International: www.vinotemp.com

Click Below to Play the Show:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Show #148
(1:05:10 min 30 MB)

If you enjoyed this episode check out these other related shows:

Audio #15: Shafer Vineyards with Doug Shafer
Audio #16: The Wines of Bob Foley
Audio #93: Mondavi – 40 Years In Napa
Audio #103: Bo Barrett and Ch. Montelena
Audio #108: Winery Profile: Trefethen Vineyards
Audio #125: Winery Profile: Staglin Family
Video #1: The Staglin Family
Audio #197: The Wines of Dunn Vineyards

View More Photos From ‘Wine Maker Profile: Mike Trujillo’

2006 Pinot Days – Part 3

Post this show to your favorite social network

07pd3main.jpg

Part of the uniqueness of Pinot Days is a series of sit-down blind tastings held during the event. Limited to 80 people and held over the course of an afternoon and evening, we were able to taste sixteen wines from the Russian River and Sonoma Coast appellations, followed by a similar number of wines from Pisoni, Garys’ and Rosella’s vineyards. Having the entire afternoon gave us ample opportunity to study these wines side-by-side. As each of the wines were unmasked, the respective winemakers were asked to speak about the their efforts, and field questions from the audience.

Join us as we hear remarks from several of these producers.

More Information on Pinot Days:

2007 Pinot Days: www.pinotdays.com

Speakers:

Scott Rich, Talisman Cellars – www.talismanwine.com
Michael Keller, Keller Estate – www.kellerestate.com
Akiko Freeman, Freeman Winery – www.freemanwinery.com
Michael Browne, Kosta Browne – www.kostabrowne.com
Gary Franscioni, Garys’ and Rosella’s Vineyards – www.garysvineyard.com
Ryan Zepaltas, Siduri Winery – www.siduri.com
Gary Pisoni, Pisoni Vineyards and Winery – www.pisonivineyards.com

Wines Tasted:

    SONOMA

FLIGHT 1 SONOMA COAST

2003 Copeland Creek
2004 Rivers Marie Summa Vineyard
2003 Talisman Thorn Ridge
2004 Keller Estate La Cruz Vineyard

FLIGHT 2 RUSSIAN RIVER VALLEY

2004 Dutton Goldfield Dutton Ranch
2004 Joseph Swan Trenton Estate
2004 Davis Bynum ‘Le Pinot’
2004 Scherrer

FLIGHT 3 SONOMA COAST

2004 Freeman Akiko’s Cuvee
2004 Kosta Browne
2002 Fort Ross Vineyard Reserve
2004 Williams Selyem
2004 Kosta Browne Kanzler

FLIGHT 4 RUSSIAN RIVER VALLEY

2004 Lynmar
2004 Inman Family Olivet Grange
2004 Dain American Beauty
2004 Siduri Keefer Ranch
2004 Loring Keefer Ranch

    SAN LUCIA HIGHLANDS

FLIGHT 1 GARYS’ VINEYARD

2004 Capiaux
2004 Roar
2004 Lucia
2004 Testarossa
2004 A. P. Vin

FLIGHT 2 ROSELLA’S

2004 Loring
2004 Vision Cellars
2004 Morgan
2004 Miner

FLIGHT 3 – ROSELLA’S

2004 Siduri
2004 Roar
2004 Bernardus
2004 August West

FLIGHT 4 – PISONI

2004 Pisoni Estate
2004 Patz & Hall
2004 Arcadian
2004 Tantarra

Sponsor: North Berkeley Imports: www.northberkeleyimports.com

Click Below to Play the Show:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Show #147
(33:04 min 15 MB)

2006 Pinot Days – Part 2

Post this show to your favorite social network

07pd2main.jpg

More interviews from the 2nd annual Pinot Days, held in San Francisco’s Fort Mason Event Center. Producers from around the globe are making better and better wines, and Pinot Noir certainly seems to be at the forefront of everyone’s interest. This varietal has become a passion for nearly all wine lovers, and one way to really get into your favorite grape is through total immersion – attending a Pinot Noir festival!

Join your GrapeRadio crew for some conversation with:

David Dain Smith, Dain Wines – www.dainwines.com
Kevin Harvey – Rhys Vineyards – www.rhysvineyards.com
Linda Schwartz – Fort Ross Vineyard – www.fortrossvineyard.com
Marci Keefer – Keefer Ranch
Steve Heimoff – Wine Enthusiast Magazine – www.winemag.com

More Information on Pinot Days:

2007 Pinot Days: www.pinotdays.com

Sponsor: Champagne USA: www.champagne.us

Click Below to Play the Show:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Show #146
(47:38 min 22 MB)

Recent Posts

Monthly Archives

Categories

About

GrapeRadio is a wine talk show. Show topics cover issues such as the enjoyment of wine, wine news and industry trends - the hallmark of the show is interviews with world class guest (winemakers, vineyards owners, wine retail / wholesale leaders, restaurateurs and sommeliers). The scope of the show is international so expect to hear many guests from around the world.

GrapeRadio has received numerous awards and honors including the 2008 James Beard Award for excellence in Journalism.

GrapeRadio has been the subject of numerous news reports by: The New York Times, Business Week, CNN, The Financial Times of London, and Wired Magazine.