2007 Anderson Valley Pinot Noir Festival

07ander1main.jpg

The 10th Annual Anderson Valley Pinot Noir Festival was held May 18-20, 2007. 34 wineries either located in the Anderson Valley or that source fruit from the Anderson Valley participated. The pastoral Anderson Valley is acclaimed internationally for classic still wines including Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Gewurztraminer as well as sparkling wines.

Friday, May 18 was a Technical Conference on the growing and making of Pinot Noir in vineyards and wineries on the Pacific Coast. This was followed by a BBQ at Navarro Vineyards under giant oaks overlooking the vineyards. Saturday was the Grand Tasting held under a big tent in the vineyards at Goldeneye Winery. A country BBQ and silent auction were part of the event. Saturday night were Winemaker Dinners at prestigious restaurants in Mendocino and Fort Bragg. On Sunday the host wineries had Open Houses complete with gourmet food, entertainment, and of course Pinot Noir. The event is held annually the third weekend in May.

Anderson Valley Winegrower’s Association: www.avwines.com

“Prince of Pinot” Recommendations:

Breggo Cellars: www.breggo.com
Claudia Springs Winery: www.claudiasprings.com
Elke Vineyards: www.elkevineyards.com
Goldeneye Winery: www.goldeneyewinery.com
Handley Cellars: www.handleycellars.com
Harmonique: www.harmoniquewine.com
Husch Vineyards: www.huschvineyards.com
Lazy Creek Vineyards: www.lazycreekvineyards.com
Londer Vineyards: www.londervineyards.com
Navarro Vineyards: www.navarrowine.com
Philo Ridge Vineyards: www.philoridge.com
Toulouse Vineyards & Winery; www.toulousevineyards.com
Brogan Cellars: www.brogancellars.com
Woodenhead: www.woodenheadwine.com

Click Below to Play the Show:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Show #149
(16:02 min 7 MB)

07ander1a.jpg

07ander1b.jpg

07ander1c.jpg

07ander1d.jpg

3 Responses to “2007 Anderson Valley Pinot Noir Festival”


  1. 1 DanPearson May 25th, 2007 at 7:21 am

    Love Pinot Noir thanks for taking around to all these great conferences.

  2. 2 Mike Holland May 25th, 2007 at 11:26 am

    I attended the Mendocino Grapegrowers Expo and there is a lot of excellent fruit being made into terrific wines. Home winemakers have access to some of the best grapes in the state. The Mendocino region is one of those hidden gems in the California wine scene. We have been visiting it regularly since 2000 and the Boonville/Philo area is bucolic in the best sense. One of our favorite winemakers is doing nicely as a consulting winemaker for several local wineries.
    A terrific podcast. Thanks again.

  1. 1 yarden winery trackback on Nov 17th, 2008 at 8:51 am

Leave a Reply


Recent Posts

Monthly Archives

Categories

About

GrapeRadio is a wine talk show. Show topics cover issues such as the enjoyment of wine, wine news and industry trends - the hallmark of the show is interviews with world class guest (winemakers, vineyards owners, wine retail / wholesale leaders, restaurateurs and sommeliers). The scope of the show is international so expect to hear many guests from around the world.

GrapeRadio has received numerous awards and honors including the 2008 James Beard Award for excellence in Journalism.

GrapeRadio has been the subject of numerous news reports by: The New York Times, Business Week, CNN, The Financial Times of London, and Wired Magazine.