Le Mesnil-sur-Oger, is south of Épernay in the middle of the Côte des Blancs, and is home to the House of Champagne Salon. Salon only produces one Champagne, the Cuvée “S”, and only in vintage bottlings. Since its inception in 1921, Salon has made only 37 vintages – an average of around four per decade. The fruit comes from a 2.5-acre vineyard owned by Salon (Le Jardin de Salon, or “Salon’s Garden”) and from 19 smaller parcels representing 22.5 acres of vineyards in Le Mesnil-sur-Oger, all chosen by founder Eugène-Aimé Salon early in the 20th century.
Created in 1921, the House of Salon was headed by Aimé until his death in 1943, when it was left to his nephew. It was then bought by Dubonnet-Cinzano in 1963, later part of the Pernod-Ricard group. In 1988, Champagne Laurent-Perrier, became the majority shareholder of Champagne Salon.
Join us as we visit with managing director Didier Dupond, and our excellent guide Marie-Agnes Thomas. We were also able to explore the estate vineyard and cellar of Salon, where we talk with vineyard manager Christelle Rinville and watch as master riddler Bernard Charpentier disgorges some Champagne the old-fashioned way, like his father and grandfather before him.
For More Info on Champagne Salon: www.champagnesalon.com
The sponsor of this video is the Office of Champagne USA: www.champagne.us
The Salon Estate vineyard and grounds
Chalk-studded soil at Salon
Marie-Agnes Thomas points out some bottles from the 1945 vintage in the Salon library
Salon labels through the years
The new Salon tasting room. The staircase (out of view in foreground) leads down to cellars (seen in photo above)