2009 Pinot Days – Seminar 1 – Part 2

09pndays2main.jpg

We continue with our coverage of the 2009 Pinot Days in San Francisco, by spending some additional time at the focus tastings. These tastings examine the wines of different producers, each drawing fruit from a specific vineyard. The wines are bagged (single blind), then placed into individual flights and tasted by the participants. The series begins with an introduction to the vineyard as well as the specific growing area by the vineyard grower/owner. This year’s events offered comparative tastings of Pinot Noir from Hirsch Vineyard, Keefer Vineyard, Pisoni Vineyard, and Clos Pepe Vineyard, each from a separate California AVA.

Part One of our series introduces the wines of Pisoni Vineyard, with a description by the incomparable Gary Pisoni, along with descriptions of each of the bottling by Jeff Pisoni (Pisoni Estate), Jeff Fink (Tantara), Rob Jensen (Testarossa), and Joe Davis (Arcadian). Following the Pisoni tasting, was a comparison of wines from Clos Pepe Vineyards. After an introduction to the vineyard by Wes Hagen, winemakers Wes Hagen (Clos Pepe Estate), Ryan Zepaltas (Siduri), Scott Shapley (Roessler), and Joe Davis (Arcadian).

For More Info:

Pinot Days: www.pinotdays.com
Prince of Pinot: www.princeofpinot.com
Pisoni Vineyards: www.pisonivineyards.com
Tantara Winery: www.tantarawinery.com
Testarossa Winery: www.testarossa.com
Arcadian Winery: www.arcadianwinery.com
Clos Pepe Vineyards: www.clospepe.com
Siduri Wines: www.siduri.com
Roessler Cellars: www.roesslercellars.com

Sponsor: Karafe, Wine Board Game: www.karafe.com

Click Below to Play the Show:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Show #253 B
(58:53min 42MB)

1 Response to “2009 Pinot Days – Seminar 1 – Part 2”


  1. 1 Mike Holland Dec 18th, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    Wes Hagen’s comments are always interesting. Few more so than his practice of treating the workers better than the dirt they work on. That kind of thinking helps make the wines as good as Wes makes – and by extension the people who buy from him. The wines are worth the money.

    Thanks for bringing this seminar to us.

Leave a Reply


Recent Posts

Monthly Archives

Categories

About

GrapeRadio is a wine talk show. Show topics cover issues such as the enjoyment of wine, wine news and industry trends - the hallmark of the show is interviews with world class guest (winemakers, vineyards owners, wine retail / wholesale leaders, restaurateurs and sommeliers). The scope of the show is international so expect to hear many guests from around the world.

GrapeRadio has received numerous awards and honors including the 2008 James Beard Award for excellence in Journalism.

GrapeRadio has been the subject of numerous news reports by: The New York Times, Business Week, CNN, The Financial Times of London, and Wired Magazine.